Skip to main content
70 Years

Board of Directors

Mr Rob (Robin) Grant

Board Chair

Rob moved to Australia from the United Kingdom in 1970 having worked as a dealer in London for stockbrokers as well as marketing with Ford Motor Co.

Rob has lived in Townsville for thirty two years having previously lived in Melbourne, Sydney, Coffs Harbour and Newcastle.

Rob worked for twenty years in the commercial television industry having held positions of National Sales and Marketing positions and that of Station Manager. He has also run an advertising agency specialising in media buying for twenty eight years.

Mr Bruce Cowley

Deputy Chair 

Until 30 June 2019, Bruce was Chairman of MinterEllison, one of Australia’s largest law firms, and has practised as a corporate lawyer for more than 38 years, specialising in directors’ duties and corporate governance.

Bruce has authored, with Stephen Knight, Duties of Board and Committee Members (Thomson Reuters, 2017) which details the duties of members of different kinds of companies and other entities which are recognised under Australian law. He is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors; chairs the Children’s Hospital Foundation Queensland and sits on the Board of the Merchant Charitable Foundation. Bruce is also a member of the Takeovers Panel and the Griffith Business School Advisory Board.

Mr Ken MacDonald

Ken has over 40 years’ of experience in corporate law, specialising in the energy and natural resources sector. In 2017, he was awarded the Gold Medal by the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

He has held a range of directorships and board management positions, including: Chairman of Highlands Pacific Limited; Deputy Chancellor of Bond University; Deputy Chairman of the Queensland Investment Corporation, and Director of Save the Children Fund Australia.

Mr Kevin Byrne

Business Consultant

M.A (Bus/Admin), AICD Member, PNGICD

Kevin had a seventeen year army officer career where he saw service in Zimbabwe, Papua New Guinea, Malaysia, Singapore and South Vietnam where he was decorated for meritorious service as a Platoon Commander earning the Mentioned in Despatches commendation in 1971. His final appointment was as Senior Instructor at the Royal Military College, Duntroon, Canberra in 1987.

Following his military career, Kevin was recruited to the Queensland Government where he headed the office of Northern and Regional Development based in Cairns. He later managed the Cairns office of the Queensland Confederation of Industry, the State’s largest private sector employer organisation before becoming Mayor of Cairns in 1992. He served a total of eleven years as Mayor of Cairns making him the second longest serving Mayor in the city’s history.

Kevin currently serves as a Director on a number of Boards.

Mr Simon Crane

Simon is the Partner-in-Charge of KPMG’s Brisbane Audit & Assurance practice. He is a registered company auditor with over 25 years’ experience. During his career, he has worked with large, publicly-listed multinationals, privately owned companies and not-for-profit organisations across a broad range of industries.

Simon is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand and a Graduate Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. In 2012, Simon was Chairman of the Queensland State Council of the Institute of Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand.

Mr Rhys Kennedy

Rhys has extensive experience in the disability sector, both as an occupational therapist providing therapy services to children, and as a manager and strategist. Rhys was motivated to join CPL following a placement in the final year of his university degree, when he witnessed children with disability achieving developmental milestones with the support of CPL’s dedicated therapists.

As Chief Executive Officer at CPL, Rhys maintains his connection with clients and front-line employees through regular visits to CPL sites. In addition to a Bachelor of Occupational Therapy, Rhys holds a Master of Business Administration and is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. Rhys is also the Chair of Cerebral Palsy Australia.

Mrs Sharon Kelly

Sharon has had broad experience in health care delivery for 39 years, commencing her career as 
a registered nurse in South Australia and moving into health leadership with her career leading her to Queensland, where she is now Executive Director, Corporate and Strategic Governance for Townsville Hospital and Health Service.

Sharon has a Master in Health Administration, is a Graduate Australian Institute of Company Directors and is also an Associate Fellow College of Health Service Management.


(1800 266 842)

Operating Hours

8am - 4:30pm Monday to Friday

Connect with us

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn